cardmaking · Easter

Vintage Easter Cards With Hidden Pocket

pic5

Hi! Spring is in the air. We just had an extremely lovely and warm weekend and I am hoping *fingers-crossed* I can finally move all of the winter coats and boots out of the mudroom. But until then, I guess I will just make more spring cards!

Today I am sharing some vintage Easter cards I made with a hidden pocket. I love vintage-y holiday images (clearly) and I knew going into this project I wanted to incorporate these two images on my cards along with a picture of my kids with the Easter Bunny. To achieve this, I decided to make a hidden pocket from some coffee-dyed paper.

pic6

Watch me make these cards on my YouTube channel:

I found these images on Pinterest and pinned them to my Easter board. I printed them out on premium matte cardstock, trimmed them, and added a border with brown card stock. I found some coordinating paper in a Crate Paper 6 x 6 pad called Pretty Party. I have a bunch of kraft-colored A7 envelopes in my stash, so I cut my base to fit just within the envelope. Then I trimmed my background paper within a 1/4″ to fit within the base.

pic8

I had previously coffee-dyed some plain copy paper and ribbon and decided to use those elements on this card. I folded a piece of the coffee-dyed paper in half, used a Fiskar border punch on the edge, and sewed along each side, adding a decorative stitch at each corner.

pic3

I adhered this to the top of my background paper and used a scrap piece of paper  as an additional layer between my vintage greeting and the pocket.

pic1

I added the date off to the right side using my date stamp and scrap piece of kraft paper. I inked the edges of everything with Tim Holtz distress ink, Vintage Photo. I added a swatch of the coffee-dyed ribbon to the left side of my greeting and glued a button on top.

pic4

pic2

I had scanned my kid’s Easter Bunny picture, resized it, and printed it out on glossy photo paper. After trimming it, I slid it into the hidden pocket. I love the old world feel of these cards and how I was able to incorporate a picture from modern day.

pic7

Thanks for stopping by!

Till next time,

ginasignature

2 thoughts on “Vintage Easter Cards With Hidden Pocket

  1. I just love these, I spent a couple of minutes drooling over the pictures till I actually moved on to your post. I really thought you’d used Graphic 45 papers till I read your description, they’re gorgeous images and the papers and coffee-dyed elements you used complement them perfectly. I hope your recipients like them as much as I do!

    Like

Leave a Reply

