Craft · scrapbook · Valentine's Day

Valentine’s Day Love Letter Canvases

vdaycanvas9

This Valentine’s day I wanted to do something special for my kids. Something that was a bit more than your usual card and gift. After a little deliberation, I decided to make them some love letter canvases. It was really easy.

vdaycanvas8

I scrummaged around my craft room, found some leftover 8 x 10 canvases in my art cabinet (that mostly houses old Girl Scout supplies). I coated each canvas with a few layers of acrylic paint. While it was drying, I found two recent photos that I loved of each kid and decided to decorate both of these canvases with the Crate Paper Cute Girl collection, pretending each canvas was a scrapbook page.

I also used my Silhouette for the first time, incorporating two free cut files from Paper Issues.  I don’t know what took me so long to use my Silhouette; I am so glad I finally jumped that hurdle.

vdaycanvas6vdaycanvas5

On each canvas, I wrote something special and meaningful. I blurred it out here because it’s meant to go from my heart to theirs.

vdaycanvas3vdaycanvas2

It’s hard being a mom. I never really fully understood exactly what came with parenthood. I probably still don’t fully understand it and I’ll look back on this in five years and shake my head and laugh a bit. But what I do know is that motherhood is tough. You’re always second guessing yourself and your decisions. You wonder what’s going to come back to haunt you. You wonder what impact you will have on each of your kids. You wish you made it easier for your own mother, because now you really get it.

vdaycanvas10vdaycanvas1

You constantly wonder and hope and pray that you are doing it right. And you’re always, always trying to do better. For their sake. And for yours.

Till next time,

ginasignature

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

