Craft · papercraft

Magical Fairy Party at Michaels

9party3

Hey everyone! WOW! Things have been busy around here. For my nine-year-old’s friend birthday party this year, we decided to have her party at Michaels. You can pick from a variety of their birthday themes or you can bring your own craft in. We opted for their Magical Fairy birthday theme. During the party you create three crafts: a magic wand, picture frame, and a little clothespin fairy.

I prepared a few things for the girls too. I mean, come on! What is a party without some awesome handmade paper pretties!  I made some goodie bags, necklaces, and cupcake toppers.

9party69party2

9party4

I found this fairy image on freepik.com. What an awesome free graphic Designed by Freepik! I altered it slightly and resized it, but it was just perfect for my use. They have soooo many free graphics for anyone to use!

There are so many bottle cap necklace tutorials that I won’t bore you with the details. This was pretty straightforward with a 1″circle punch and some glossy accents on top. Modge Podge Dimensional Magic DID NOT work for this. I bought it and all it did was bleed my pictures! The girls loved getting their own personalized necklaces. It was pretty awesome.

9party79party89party99party10

I ended up taking a fuji instax picture of each face-painted girl with the birthday girl and attached it the outside of their goodie bags. The girls loved watching the instax come to life!

9party12

The goodie bags were so easy! I resized my freepix picture, printed, and trimmed it. I punched some gray hearts, stamped my thank you message, added a pink sticker heart, and attached it all to the bag with a purple clip.

9party149party139party159party169party179party18

I printed a few more freepix pictures of the fairy, punched them out with a 3″ circle punch, cut some 9s and stars with my Cricut and attached them to straws for the cupcake toppers. The hearts are cut using glitter paper and the stars are topped with my clear Wink of Stella pen (but you really can’t see the awesome glitter on the stars in this picture).

9party59party11

Before I found my freepix fairy picture, I made invites using the magic wand theme. I cut stars using my cricut and some glitter paper from Walmart, designed the message in Photoshop, and printed it on white card stock.

9party199party20

Phew! This one can be crossed off the list. The party was such a hit that my six-year-old asked if she can have her party at Michaels. Even with the snafus, it went over well! Till next time!

ginasignature

2 thoughts on “Magical Fairy Party at Michaels

Leave a Reply

