Baby Card · cardmaking · papercraft

Baby Shower Card

babyshower4

Hi Everyone! Today I am sharing a baby shower card I made using a cake topper I bought for a dollar in the Target dollar spot.

babyshower8

I was recently invited to a baby shower for a girl who is having a baby boy. I knew I was going to be giving her a gift card, so I wanted to make a special card to hold it. And wouldn’t you know, while I was at Target buying the before-mentioned gift card, I stumbled upon this green cake topper in the dollar spot!

babyshower1

I just knew I could make something with this! I started out by finding a piece of paper that matched this very weird shade of green. I ended up finding the perfect one in a Pink Paislee paper pad called Memorandum. This was on one of the Hot Buy shelves at Michaels a few weeks ago.

I had a large white envelope I wanted to put this in ( 8″ x 5.75″), so I cut my matching paper at 7.75″ x 5.5″. Next I glued the straws close to the very end of the paper, sort of on an angle.

babyshower2

I let this dry for a bit and in the meantime, created an electronic “Congratulations” message. I also cut some embellishments to use alongside it. (Our names are covered up for obvious reasons!)

babyshower3

I ended up cutting a small gray rectangle and some small black hearts with the .625″ (5/8) recollections heart punch. I attached everything with permanent tape runner and also adhered my gift card with some black washi tape. I trimmed the straws so they were flush to the bottom of the card and I added little zot dots to the back of each banner flag so it stayed in place.

babyshower5babyshower7babyshower6

I call this project a smashing success! See you soon!

ginasignature

 

Leave a Reply

