papercraft · St. Patrick's Day

Cutie-Pie St. Patrick’s Day Card

stpat7

I’m not Irish, but I have a little niece who is half Irish, so I decided to make her (and my other niece for fairness!) a cutie-pie St. Patrick’s Day card.

stpat9

I found this free printable from the Land of Nod (you can find it here on my St. Patrick’s Day Pinterest board).

stpat2

I printed it out (I did this all at night so my pictures don’t contain the whitest of lights) and decided to try out a new blending technique with my colored pencils. I attended the SSAT show (Stamp Scrap Art Tour) a few weekends ago and came across this liquid called Gamsol, which is odorless mineral spirits, used for blending colored pencils. I gave it a whirl and it was awesome.

stpat3

You just use the end of a stump with a bit of the Gamsol on it to blend the colors together. Once I finished with the coloring, I used my clear Wink of Stella to go over the stars and the coins in the pot. Then, I cut out the image.

stpat4

Next, I created an A2 base from green card stock and used the Lawn Fawn Large Stitched Rectangle die to cut a sub-base.

stpat1

I attached them with adhesive and then I used some foam tape to attach the colored image to the middle of the card. I added a heart I cut using my Echo Park Heart Label die and added a few glittery Sticko heart stickers I purchased from Walmart to the cheeks.

stpat5

Even though I used the Wink of Stella on the coins, the next morning I decided to add some yellow gems to liven things up a bit.

stpat6

stpat8

stpat10

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

ginasignature

Leave a Reply

