Baby Card · papercraft

Congrats X 2 Card

 

congratsx2_12

What’s up blogosphere? Not much shaking here, except I would prefer that it was summer already. I’ve reached my limit of cold weather…that is an understatement. All in due time I suppose.

congratsx2_1

Today’s project is a twin baby boy’s card. I used a few techniques for this card: stamping, colored pencil coloring and blending, painting chipboard, embossing. It was fun and I love how it turned out.

I started with a top fold card base that measured at 11″ x 4″, which I scored at 5.5″ using my scoring board. I cut the scalloped base using the smallest of my Spellbinders oval scalloped die.

congratsx2_5

I stamped the cute little onsie with a stamp I got from the bargain bin at Michaels for $1.50 which is the same bin I found my Thank You stamp from my last post.

congratsx2_4

I colored the edges with colored pencils and used my colored pencil blender to smudge the edges. I colored the heart in blue and went over it with some Glossy Accents.

congratsx2_3

I cut a blue base about .25″ larger than the stamped area and adhered it using sticker tabs. Next, I added a blue ribbon from a .25″ baby blue ribbon I had in my stash. I used a Zot to place it on the hanger.

congratsx2_6

I have a chipboard collection I purchased from Hobby Lobby over the summer clearance for $4.00. From it, I punched out one of the banners and painted it black with acrylic paint. I also used a 2 and an X from the same collection and painted it with blue acrylic paint. I stamped my greeting — congrats — with a stamp I found in the dollar bin at Target (as part of a stamp collection) and embossed it with white powder.

congratsx2_7

I adhered the stamped picture onto my card base with sticker tabs and glued my chipboard with Aileen’s craft glue.

congratsx2_2

I punched little hearts out of blue with a punch I got out of the same Michael’s bargain bin as the stamp!

congratsx2_8

I glued those little hearts all around my card with Aileen’s glue.

congratsx2_9

I added a black scalloped heart to the inside of my card to brighten it up a bit. The heart was cut on my Circuit machine using, yes, you guessed it, my Doodlecharms cartridge!

congratsx2_10

This completed my card. It’s off to its sweet little recipients with love and joy!

congratsx2_13congratsx2_11

ginasignature

Leave a Reply

