papercraft · Valentine's Day

Valentine Monster Mailboxes

monstervalentine1a

Every year it’s the same story: My daughter comes home and tells me she needs a box to collect her Valentine’s Day cards in for her party. And every year before, I have grabbed a Kleenex box, covered it with wrapping paper, stuck a few stickers on it and called it done.

For some reason this year I wanted to make something a little more interesting…and then BLAM! A monster popped into my head. More specifically…a cute Valentine’s Day monster who chomps cards. This was really easy to do and used only a few supplies: construction paper, glue, scrap yellow, black, and white paper, washi tape, an X-ACTO knife and a Ziploc sandwich bag box.

I started by tracing every side of my box on the red construction paper, cutting it out and then gluing it on all sides.

monstervalentine7

Next, I trimmed the sides that were too long or hanging over with an X-ACTO knife. I also used it to trim the construction paper from the hole on the top of the box. (The hole already existed because that’s how I pulled that baggies out when I needed them, so I just needed to get rid of the construction paper that was over it.)

monstervalentine6

Then I placed washi tape around the perimeter of the opening to cover up the jagged edges and I used yellow hearts, black 1-inch circles and little tiny white circles to make eyes. I glued these to the top. (I added the tiny white circles after I snapped this picture.)

monstervalentine5

Next I created white triangle teeth from scrap paper and glued them on the inside of the box. Then I made two heart antennas from black pipe cleaners and I stuck them in the top of the box. I created a hole by making a little x with my X-ACTO knife and then I stuck the tip of a pencil in it to make a hole.

monstervalentine4

monstervalentine3

I stuck my pipe cleaners through and bent the bottoms to ensure they don’t fall out. My cute chompy monster was complete. And my third grader thought it was soooo cool!

monstervalentine8

ginasignature

Leave a Reply

